Author Topic: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x  (Read 658 times)

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2344
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #30 on: August 12, 2017, 11:24:22 AM »
Sorry, Paul, I just converted the design again. Equipping items works well. wav-files are properly played, but midi-files are not.

To make sure that it's not something concerning my sound settings, I loaded another design afterwards and therein, all music is properly played.

Interestingly, when I converted "Fiend's Ritual", I have the same issue that the title midi music and level background midi music is not played.

But how can it work for you and not for me?
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2237
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #31 on: August 12, 2017, 11:35:31 AM »
Can you provide a UafErr_Engine.log?  It may contain
a clue.

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2344
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #32 on: August 12, 2017, 11:45:04 AM »
Sure!

Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2237
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #33 on: August 12, 2017, 12:05:39 PM »
Those are nice but I wanted UafErr_Engine.log that
results from playing the game.

Edit: ooops should have said  "UafErr_Engine.txt".
« Last Edit: August 12, 2017, 12:14:16 PM by Paul R. Stevens »

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2344
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #34 on: August 12, 2017, 12:17:27 PM »
Sorry...

In any case, this one does not seem to contain a lot of information... :(
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2237
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #35 on: August 12, 2017, 02:21:10 PM »
It appears you did not do much game playing. when you
created that log.

You should play the game up until the failure, terminate
normally (ENCAMP/QUIT/YES), and then the log should
be more complete.

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2344
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #36 on: August 12, 2017, 04:38:15 PM »
Well, the MIDI-music failure occurs right at the beginning, thus I did not play long.

However - I played now until a combat was not triggered in another level (as you can see in the playfile.log), and the UafErr_Engine-file (attached) shows the right hour (I mean it is the correct file), but it still is not bigger than 1 KB... It almost seems like errors are not recorded, can that be the case? I would have expected an error message in the error file when the combat is not triggered (since I assume it is related to problems with the monster database).

I don't get what's happening...
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2237
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #37 on: August 12, 2017, 10:44:01 PM »
Do you run the engine with a shortcut or something?
Is this the UafErr_Engine.txt from the design file?

I think you have two UafErr_Engine.txt.  The first
is created before you load the design and the second is
created after the engine knows where the design is located.

Can you look around a bit in the directories that you use?
It has to be somewhere.  I have never known it to be missing.

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2344
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #38 on: August 13, 2017, 02:21:34 AM »
This is strange. I converted two designs:

Fiend's Ritual: The engine error file is just in the folder I would expect, and it clearly indicates the MIDI problem (respective files not found).

Snow Tigress: I only find the file I already attached. I will convert the design again, maybe I made some mistake during the process or in the folder structure.
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9863
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #39 on: August 14, 2017, 12:45:45 PM »
As I recall, in version .914 and earlier, the only thing we could change about baseclass/class/race was it's name. All the internal stuff looked the same. So, if you changed the name of "thief" to "baker", in the item database you would select "thief" if you wanted the "baker" to use the item.

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2237
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #40 on: August 15, 2017, 10:22:28 AM »
Where are we with this MIDI problem?  Did you ever find
the UafErr_Engine.txt file that we need?

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2344
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #41 on: August 15, 2017, 11:45:42 AM »
Sorry Paul, due to work I have not yet found time to check. (I wanted to do the converting once again, maybe something went wrong ast time or may folder structure is not okay...) Maybe I can do it tonight. If not, I will have spare days starting on Friday.
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2237
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #42 on: August 15, 2017, 12:48:46 PM »
No problem.  I was worried that the ball
might have been in my court.

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2344
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #43 on: August 16, 2017, 05:58:31 AM »
Hi Paul, this time it worked (after I did the converting process again, not sure what went wrong last time), I got a reasonable error file (attached).

In the line 0009e198, the text says that the required file was not found, and the it is referred to the Midi-File played right at the title screen.

The file is there, though! And, as I mentioned, the Wave-files are played.
In the other design I converted ("Fiend's Ritual"), it seems that some Midi-files are found, others not... I do not see a pattern there.
My first idea was that it has something to with my German system and how the folders are named, but then I would expect all files not to be found, not just the Midi files...  ???
« Last Edit: August 18, 2017, 01:11:56 AM by Dinonykos »
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2237
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #44 on: August 16, 2017, 10:15:59 AM »
It is my (rather informed) opinion that your
path name is too long for the MIDI player.  It
appears to have a built-in limit.  I created the same
error by putting your design in a folder with a long
path name (except that I got an English error).

This is a Windoze limitation. not a DC limitation.
The error occurs in mciSendCommand:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/query/dev14.query?appId=Dev14IDEF1&l=EN-US&k=k(mmsystem%2FmciSendCommand);k(mciSendCommand);k(DevLang-C%2B%2B);k(TargetOS-Windows)&rd=true

 

anything