Author Topic: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place  (Read 3949 times)

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2229
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #45 on: April 19, 2013, 06:42:09 PM »

Offline noctoskanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #46 on: April 20, 2013, 05:01:14 AM »
ok thank you guys for all your wonderful help i finally can test my design. it wasn't quit as simple as downloading the link pau provided and drop my desing folder in to it. but i got it.

here is what i did so if some human ever has this issue again you can know what i did.

i installed the new version the second link you gave not the first opened the editor starting new design created a lvl for every lvl i had in my design saved as and left. then i copy pasted each lvl from my game in to the data folder of the new design then relaunched editor imported my item and monster lists and saved as the game again. wham-o can test my design

thanks you guys again

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2229
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #47 on: April 20, 2013, 09:12:11 AM »
I'm glad you finally got it to work.

You are going to encounter bugs and crashes.
It will be most helpful if you can report these
to me directly via email.  You should turn on
the recording EVERY TIME you play the game.
Then, when an error occurs, copy all the game
files to me and I will be able to reproduce the
error by using your record.log file.

Manikus:::::  Should we make a way for the
editor to turn on recording when the designer
activates the engine via 'TEST'?  Perhaps recording
should be turned on by default until bug reports
stop coming in.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9809
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #48 on: April 20, 2013, 02:48:56 PM »
r the
editor to turn on recording when the designer
activates the engine via 'TEST'?  Perhaps recording
should be turned on by default until bug reports
stop coming in.

In the versions we've been testing, it's on by default. I think recording should be left on by default until version 1.0 is released. I think for post version 1.0, it would be nice if testing from editor had the option as a checkbox some place. I personally  use this not only to look at DC errors, but also to examine combats for balance and to see if it is what I really want going on. :)

Offline steve_mcdee

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1950
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #49 on: April 21, 2013, 07:57:16 AM »
I assume recording doesn't generate huge files or anything, so it might as well be left on, as far as I am concerned. We will all be happier if we have a fatal error and then discover that we can send in a file that already exists and get a fix.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9809
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #50 on: April 22, 2013, 02:00:57 PM »
The files sizes are quite small compared to what we're used to now days. They do not make a video of the game, they simply record the actions in a text readable format that the engine can play back - you must have the same engine to playback with 100% assuredness at this point, though I've seen through extensive testing that you can be a couple off and usually still watch them. :)

 

anything