Author Topic: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place  (Read 4156 times)

Online manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9863
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #30 on: April 16, 2013, 03:17:58 PM »
paul sorry but your have total confused me as i don't have any clue why the version numbers differ. i only know that i down loaded all this from the link you and M posted in my topic i looking for newest version.  Can you tell me what i need to do to fix this

Go to the link provided for Paul's site - find the engine with the number that Paul listed in his response, download and reaplace engine that you are using. :)
This should work, if not please post the new error if any.

Offline Nol Drek

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2186
    • Nol Drek's Web Site
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #31 on: April 16, 2013, 09:48:42 PM »
Go to the link provided for Paul's site - find the engine with the number that Paul listed in his response, download and reaplace engine that you are using. :)
This should work, if not please post the new error if any.

The most recent version of UAFWIN at Paul's site is 09981
http://www.dianneandpaul.net/UAF/UAFWin_09981.7z
"Into the Drachensgrab Mountains!"

http://www.noldrek.com

Offline noctoskanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #32 on: April 17, 2013, 07:10:25 AM »
no go fellows

Quote
Opened Error Log on Wed Apr 17 08:08:59 2013
000c9b1c 826140 0000000000000000 Engine Version: 0.998100
000c9b1c      0 0000000000000000 Working directory = F:\BetaRelease.dsn\first attempt 13.dsn\
000c9b85    105 0000000000000000 Loading Config File = 'F:\BetaRelease.dsn\first attempt 13.dsn\Data\config.txt'
000c9b86      1 0000000000000000 DisableScreenSaver = 1
000c9b86      0 0000000000000000 Force_SysMem = 1
000c9b86      0 0000000000000000 Error Log ON
000c9b87      1 0000000000000000 Total optional wall formats: 4
000c9c91    266 0000000000000000 OS: Microsoft Windows 2000 Workstation version 5.1 Service Pack 3 (Build 2600)
 000c9c91      0 0000000000000000 DX: DirectX 8
000c9c91      0 0000000000000000 IE: 8.0.6001.18702
000c9c92      1 0000000000000000 Enter InitFullScreen
000c9c92      0 0000000000000000 Creating pScreen
000c9c99      7 0000000000000000 Checking SysMem Flag
000c9c99      0 0000000000000000 Checking video modes
000c9c99      0 0000000000000000 Checking 640 x 480 x 32
000c9c99      0 0000000000000000 Using video mode 640 x 480 x 32
000c9c99      0 0000000000000000 Creating full screen()
000c9e70    471 0000000000000000 screen created ok
000c9e70      0 0000000000000000 InitGraphics fullscreen at 640 x 480 x 32
000c9e70      0 0000000000000000 Init WallSlot image cache with size 48
000c9e70      0 0000000000000000 Init BgSlot image cache with size 32
000c9ed8    104 0000000000000000 Loaded sound lib file Bass.dll, ver 1.6
000c9ed8      0 0000000000000000 Sound playback rate = 22050
000ca03f    359 0000000000000000 Sound card 1 desc: Primary Sound Driver
000ca03f      0 0000000000000000 Sound card 2 desc: SB Audigy Audio [DC00]
000ca03f      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: hwsize 0, hwfree 0, freesam 62, free3d 62, minrate 4000, maxrate 191999, eax 0, a3d 0, dsver 8
000ca03f      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: Continuous sample rates supported
000ca03f      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: Certified driver
000ca03f      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: mono sample rates supported in hw
000ca03f      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: stereo sample rates supported in hw
000ca03f      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: 8-bit sample rates supported in hw
000ca03f      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: 16-bit sample rates supported in hw
000ca098     89 0000000000000000 Error 0 trying to determine design version from file F:\BetaRelease.dsn\first attempt 13.dsn\Data\game.dat
000ca098      0 0000000000000000 (MB) Load Error: The Game.dat file appears to be missing or invalid - Load failed
000caa57   2495 0000000000000000 Failed to load design in InitDesignData()
000cac46    495 0000000000000000 Failed to initialize game data - miscError 0
000cac46      0 0000000000000000 (MB) Game Init Error: Failed to initialize game data
Please check error log for problem indication
000cb7c3   2941 0000000000000000 Processing WM_DESTROY

Offline SilentThief

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 891
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #33 on: April 17, 2013, 07:48:14 AM »
000c9c91      0 0000000000000000 DX: DirectX 8

I thought DC required DX 9...

ST

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2236
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #34 on: April 17, 2013, 10:28:44 AM »
You are getting closer.  I see you are using
version 0.9981.  But that is not close enough.
That version does not work for me, either.

A few messages ago you said:

Quote from: noctoskanan
i don't have uafwin.exe i did have a TestEng_09983010

When I use that version, things are better.  Perhaps
you could try it and see if it is better for you.

Online manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9863
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #35 on: April 17, 2013, 02:05:46 PM »
the thing about DC is that different versions are not necessarily compatible with one another and in fact most aren't. If you save with a particular editor, you need to use an engine of the same number, or a subsequent number that is *smaller* than the next editor number.
If you're using an old editor, and a new engine, not only will your game.dat now work, but none of your .dat will work.

Offline noctoskanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #36 on: April 17, 2013, 06:43:05 PM »
Quote
You are getting closer.  I see you are using
version 0.9981.  But that is not close enough.
That version does not work for me, either.

A few messages ago you said:

Quote from: noctoskanan

    i don't have uafwin.exe i did have a TestEng_09983010


When I use that version, things are better.  Perhaps
you could try it and see if it is better for you.

well i just downloaded the link that was listed yesterday. and i was attempting to use the TestEng_09983010 version the entire time i was trying to get assistance you told me that it wasn't reading as such so i downloaded the link the other guy provided the day before. and now your telling me to go back to the version that originally wasn't working. so now what

on top of that the log file i keep posting states I'm using os windows 2000 which is no way true i'm using xp pro service 3

Online manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9863
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #37 on: April 17, 2013, 07:08:03 PM »
Quote
You are getting closer.  I see you are using
version 0.9981.  But that is not close enough.
That version does not work for me, either.

A few messages ago you said:

Quote from: noctoskanan

    i don't have uafwin.exe i did have a TestEng_09983010


When I use that version, things are better.  Perhaps
you could try it and see if it is better for you.

well i just downloaded the link that was listed yesterday. and i was attempting to use the TestEng_09983010 version the entire time i was trying to get assistance you told me that it wasn't reading as such so i downloaded the link the other guy provided the day before. and now your telling me to go back to the version that originally wasn't working. so now what

on top of that the log file i keep posting states I'm using os windows 2000 which is no way true i'm using xp pro service 3

Let's see if we can get through some of the extraneous information you might have gotten.
First, Paul is telling you what you did according to your logs. If you used the .9983010 engine/editor to save your design, and he tests it with the 9983010 engine and it works, that means that you are trying to do it with another engine.
So...I mentioned the way that this beta thing works. If you save with a particular editor, you need to use the compatible engine. In other words if you save with a new editor and try to use an old engine, you will get a warning and it won't work. The same thing goes if you save with an old editor and try to use a new engine.

As for what the error log is saying, it's not saying you are running Win 2000, but that's DC has detected that your system can support at least that old of a base Win system. Same thing for your DX number - it lists the base version you are compatible with.

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2236
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #38 on: April 17, 2013, 07:56:03 PM »
Quote
i was attempting to use the TestEng_09983010 version

I will not debate what you were 'attempting' to
do.  I can only tell you that you failed in that
attempt.  The logs clearly said that you were
using 0.9953 and 0.9981.  I have never seen
one of your logs with 0.9983010 because if you
had the log would start like this:
Code: [Select]
Opened Error Log on Wed Apr 17 19:54:50 2013
01c7495a 29837658 000000000000000Engine Version: 0.998301

Edit:  It occurs to me that you might be  attempting to
run the engine via the editor and that you have failed
to rename the engine to the proper name.  The editor
generally wants the engine to be named "UAFWin.exe".
Unless you have taken steps to override that name.

I never do this myself...I always simply double-click the
executable file.

« Last Edit: April 17, 2013, 08:00:22 PM by Paul R. Stevens »

Offline noctoskanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #39 on: April 19, 2013, 06:42:55 AM »
i repeat now what

Offline noctoskanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #40 on: April 19, 2013, 07:14:26 AM »
i went to find TestEng_09983010 version from pauls site "like suggested "and unless i'm drunk at 6 am it's not there

it seems to go from
http://www.dianneandpaul.net/UAF/UAFWin_09974.7z
http://www.dianneandpaul.net/UAF/UAFWin_09980.7z
http://www.dianneandpaul.net/UAF/UAFWin_09981.7z
what i want should be here right
http://www.dianneandpaul.net/UAF/UAFWin_930105.7z


they seem to be going is ascending order so where is

so since this seems to not be working for me i want all you nice people attempting to help me to start over and start talking to be like i'm a 5 year old and please step by step tell me what i do where i go what i click and how i remove the none working version and replace it with the working one and lets see if i can understand that.

cause manikus pretty much spent the last to reply he had repeating what he said which makes sense but doesn't explain how i fix this just tells me why it's not working. i understand problem i want solution


do not brother telling me my needed folder set up i have that i know i need the data stuff in a data folder  and the pictures in the resources and saves in the saves.
i just want the working engine version for my editor and how to get dc editor to load engine version  and not the existing one

Offline steve_mcdee

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1953
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #41 on: April 19, 2013, 08:30:51 AM »
Perhaps it would help to start from scratch: download all the DC files afresh and install them in a completely new folder. See if the problem still occurs. If it doesn't, drop your current design folder into the new DC folder and see if that works.

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2236
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #42 on: April 19, 2013, 10:05:31 AM »
OK.  In an hour or so, I will post
a (hopefully) COMPLETE editor/engine
setup that you will not have to modify
in any way.  With a working dungeon.
Patience, please.  And it will be big.

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2236
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #43 on: April 19, 2013, 11:47:49 AM »
Go and get:

http://dianneandpaul.net/Test/TestDesign_09984017.7z

I think that perhaps your problem was that
the engine in the editor folder's default
design needed to be updated.  We do things
a bit differently and never use that engine.

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2236
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #44 on: April 19, 2013, 05:43:54 PM »
There appears to have been a bit of SNAFU.
An older editor seems to have slipped into that download.
I have deleted that file and will replace it soon
with a version 0.9984018.