Author Topic: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place  (Read 3975 times)

Offline noctoskanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #15 on: April 14, 2013, 05:19:06 PM »
well my file set up is just like that assuming you refer to testEng_09983010 file as the uafwin file other wise were are out of luck  unless i need to unzip or open the 0.914 version of the DC PROGRAM

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2232
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #16 on: April 14, 2013, 05:50:27 PM »
Then I will need to see the log file.  It usually tells
exactly what went wrong.  If it does not, then I
need to fix it.  Have you looked at it?

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9815
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #17 on: April 15, 2013, 02:25:10 PM »
Let me throw in my two cents worth.
I use two different systems set at 32 bit color depth, but in the DC config.txt files, I set that to 24 and have had no problem - on both Win 7 and Win XP.

Also, please take a look at these threads to see how things should be laid out for the new version of DC. The folder layout is a bit different from .914. You can't just swap engines/editors to make them work.
http://ua.reonis.com/index.php?topic=1299.0

If this is already obvious and taken care of, well, I did sasy it was only worth 2 cents. :D

Offline noctoskanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #18 on: April 15, 2013, 04:44:31 PM »
well thank you and thank YOU both for your help. but not yet can i test this mod in the editor nore can i play it out side the editor. i next question is which log do you want

   this is the uaferr_engine log
Quote
Opened Error Log on Sun Apr 14 18:23:13 2013
020dcca1 34458785 000000000000000Engine Version: 0.995300
020dcca1      0 0000000000000000 Working directory = F:\BetaRelease.dsn\first attempt 07.dsn\
020dcca2      1 0000000000000000 Loading Config File = 'F:\BetaRelease.dsn\first attempt 07.dsn\Data\config.txt'
020dcca3      1 0000000000000000 DisableScreenSaver = 1
020dcca3      0 0000000000000000 Force_SysMem = 1
020dcca3      0 0000000000000000 Error Log ON
020dcca5      2 0000000000000000 Total optional wall formats: 4
020dcce4     63 0000000000000000 OS: Microsoft Windows 2000 Workstation version 5.1 Service Pack 3 (Build 2600)
 020dcce4      0 0000000000000000 DX: DirectX 8
020dcce4      0 0000000000000000 IE: 8.0.6001.18702
020dcce5      1 0000000000000000 Enter InitFullScreen
020dcce5      0 0000000000000000 Creating pScreen
020dccec      7 0000000000000000 Checking SysMem Flag
020dccec      0 0000000000000000 Checking video modes
020dccec      0 0000000000000000 Checking 640 x 480 x 32
020dccec      0 0000000000000000 Using video mode 640 x 480 x 32
020dccec      0 0000000000000000 Creating full screen()
020dcec2    470 0000000000000000 screen created ok
020dcec2      0 0000000000000000 InitGraphics fullscreen at 640 x 480 x 32
020dcec2      0 0000000000000000 Init WallSlot image cache with size 48
020dcec3      1 0000000000000000 Init BgSlot image cache with size 32
020dcee8     37 0000000000000000 Loaded sound lib file Bass.dll, ver 1.6
020dcee8      0 0000000000000000 Sound playback rate = 22050
020dcf6b    131 0000000000000000 Sound card 1 desc: Primary Sound Driver
020dcf6b      0 0000000000000000 Sound card 2 desc: SB Audigy Audio [DC00]
020dcf6b      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: hwsize 0, hwfree 0, freesam 62, free3d 62, minrate 4000, maxrate 191999, eax 0, a3d 0, dsver 8
020dcf6b      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: Continuous sample rates supported
020dcf6b      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: Certified driver
020dcf6b      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: mono sample rates supported in hw
020dcf6b      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: stereo sample rates supported in hw
020dcf6b      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: 8-bit sample rates supported in hw
020dcf6b      0 0000000000000000 Sound Card Info: 16-bit sample rates supported in hw
020dcf6f      4 0000000000000000 Error 0 trying to determine design version from file F:\BetaRelease.dsn\first attempt 07.dsn\Data\game.dat
020dcf6f      0 0000000000000000 (MB) Load Error: The Game.dat file appears to be missing or invalid - Load failed
020ddcf4   3461 0000000000000000 Failed to load design in InitDesignData()
020ddf12    542 0000000000000000 Failed to initialize game data - miscError 0
020ddf12      0 0000000000000000 (MB) Game Init Error: Failed to initialize game data
Please check error log for problem indication
020de998   2694 0000000000000000 Processing WM_DESTROY

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9815
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #19 on: April 15, 2013, 04:57:44 PM »
So, in your First Attempt 07.dsn, there should be 3 folders: Data, Resources, Saves and the UAFWin.exe
In the Data folder, there should be a file called Game.dat.

Can you please verify this for me?

Offline noctoskanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #20 on: April 15, 2013, 05:23:42 PM »
i don't have uafwin.exe i did have a TestEng_09983010 until i fallowed your link to the convert program file and ran it. now that is in a folder it made called back up and yes i have the game.dat. file in the data folder

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9815
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #21 on: April 15, 2013, 05:32:13 PM »
You need to rename the engine to UAFWin.exe if you want to call it from the editor.

Please look at the link I posted above - it sounds like you are using the old layout (for version .914) and this does not work with any of the more recent engines.

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2232
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #22 on: April 15, 2013, 05:41:18 PM »
Very curious.....It appears the engine found the
game.dat file.  But the game.dat file is not a
proper file.

Can you send me your game.dat file?
Alternatively, I could add some debugging to
the engine to see what the game.dat file looks
like.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9815
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #23 on: April 15, 2013, 05:44:25 PM »
Well, that wrecks my theory about the wrong folder setup, or does it? Will the engine look in it's own folder?

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2232
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #24 on: April 15, 2013, 06:10:56 PM »
manikus:::

Code: [Select]
020dcf6f      4 0000000000000000 Error 0 trying to determine design version from file F:\BetaRelease.dsn\first attempt 07.dsn\Data\game.dat

That line in the log should not have appeared
unless the engine found game.dat, read the first
few bytes, and determined that they were not
what was expected.

Offline noctoskanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #25 on: April 15, 2013, 06:52:57 PM »
ok here is my data file

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2232
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #26 on: April 15, 2013, 10:17:06 PM »
I put your game.dat in my design and loaded
it with TestEng_09983010.exe.  It worked.
That is the version you said you were running.

But your log file says that you are using
version 0.9953.    Can you explain that?
Do you have another UAFWin in that same
design folder?  Are you using a shortcut or
something?

Somehow you are executing version 0.9953.
And, indeed, when I try to use version 0.9953,
I get the same error you got.

Offline noctoskanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #27 on: April 15, 2013, 10:39:59 PM »
paul sorry but your have total confused me as i don't have any clue why the version numbers differ. i only know that i down loaded all this from the link you and M posted in my topic i looking for newest version.  Can you tell me what i need to do to fix this

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9815
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #28 on: April 16, 2013, 02:15:21 PM »
manikus:::

Code: [Select]
020dcf6f      4 0000000000000000 Error 0 trying to determine design version from file F:\BetaRelease.dsn\first attempt 07.dsn\Data\game.dat

That line in the log should not have appeared
unless the engine found game.dat, read the first
few bytes, and determined that they were not
what was expected.

Ah yes. That is rather obvious, isn't it? :D

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2232
Re: i have random quests nearly one aday so here is my place
« Reply #29 on: April 16, 2013, 02:30:04 PM »
Manikus::::

Can you tell this fellow how to put the
executable file in his design folder
and double-click on it?