Poll

What resolution should the default Hero Craft be at?

640x480 (default DC setting) - viewport is 176x211
4 (80%)
800x600 - viewport is 264x316
0 (0%)
1024x768 - viewport is 352x422
0 (0%)
640x480 square - viewport is 264x264
0 (0%)
800x600 square - viewport is 352x352
1 (20%)
1024x768 square - viewport is 528x528
0 (0%)
other, I will explain below
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 5

Author Topic: Hero Craft: What rsolution  (Read 536 times)

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9589
Hero Craft: What rsolution
« on: February 07, 2017, 04:00:56 PM »
what resolution would you like the default Hero Craft release to be set at? Icons will be the same regardless. Cursors will be the same. Combat dungeons and wildernesses will be the same. Everything else is different. That won't be that big of a deal for most of you, since the source art around the web which can be used to make small pics, big pics and sprites is much higher resolution than we can actually use. The walls and the borders are a different story, harder to make.

Oh, and for the record, Nol's vote counts as a super vote. :D :D :D


Online Nol Drek

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2129
    • Nol Drek's Web Site
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2017, 06:55:53 PM »
I think we should go with whatever the popular vote is... no super delegates or electors...
"Into the Drachensgrab Mountains!"

http://www.noldrek.com

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9589
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2017, 07:18:54 PM »
Your vote will officially not count for more than one vote, but it's still a super vote. :D

The art is not really the hard part, but I am using quite a different Character View screen. I have it worked out for my own projects - 800x600 square. I just really want to get a jump on what people want, as I am getting ready to start testing some Hero craft stuff.

Online Nol Drek

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2129
    • Nol Drek's Web Site
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2017, 11:28:19 PM »
I chose 640x480 (default DC setting) - viewport is 176x211 because I have a lot of smallpics that are already that resolution. If you want to go with a bigger resolution and you have a reason why, such as needing more room for the character view menu, then that is fine with me as well.
"Into the Drachensgrab Mountains!"

http://www.noldrek.com

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9589
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2017, 12:47:44 PM »
My big concern which was the reason for this poll, was that all the things I wanted to do wouldn't fit on a smaller screen. What do I mean? Listing of skills, secret identity, base of operations, etc.

Well turns out, not as big of a deal as I thought. So, as of right now, we have displays for both of the resolutions voted for. :D

Offline Milos Gulan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3049
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2017, 01:21:43 PM »
I voted for other, that means standard 640*480 and 1024*768 square resolution if possible though this latest is a bit harder to work with I guess.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9589
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2017, 01:26:54 PM »
I voted for other, that means standard 640*480 and 1024*768 square resolution if possible though this latest is a bit harder to work with I guess.

You get to vote for one. Other is for something not on the list, not for multiple items on the list. Feel free to change your vote.

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2139
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2017, 01:28:17 PM »
I voted for 640x480 as being totally adequate to display
what is needed.  Saving 1/3 or more the size of all graphics without
any loss of information makes sense to me.  But, as an outsider,
you should probably count my vote as a half-vote.

Offline Mechanaut

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2017, 04:55:15 PM »
Question: If Windows no longer supports 640x480, and most graphics cards don't either... Why is it an option?
(I understand that the game can display in windowed mode @640x480)

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9589
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2017, 05:14:03 PM »
I use 640 in windowed mode. Easy for Paul and I to use. :D

Also, many people are running DC on older versions of Windows to run DC. Not to mention a significant number of community members come to DC from FRUA, which is 320x200.


Offline Mechanaut

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2017, 06:11:59 PM »
...
For the editor I understand, but fullscreen 320x200 (or 640x480) can often only be done via emulator, and I can't imagine anyone plays in [true] 320x200 on the desktop; (in my case that's 2560x1600).
But asked, answered, and understood.  ;)

**Funny story:  The Fallout 3 engine supports 640x480; (Oblivion even defaulted to it). My graphics card will not do 640x480, and apparently upsampled the game's output. The resulting art was like looking at the game through a screen-space shader ~and was oddly improved IMO. The closest I can describe it is like an animated 90's comic book by Mirage. But I could not screen-shot it, because that only recorded the raw output, not the screen-effected graphics.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2017, 06:20:47 PM by Mechanaut »

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9589
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2017, 06:20:51 PM »
I am sure that you are right about 320x200. With that being said, I have a very old laptop that still works and has Secret of teh Silver blades loaded on it. :D It's screen res is 320x200. I believe that FRUA is a bit too complicated piece of software to run on this particular laptop.

I have an older lpatop that I do actually use at home. The highest res it has is 1024x768 and I use it to play FRUA and DC on. I use DOSBox for FRUA, so that it and DC play in 640x480 full screen.

Offline steve_mcdee

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1924
Re: Hero Craft: What rsolution
« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2017, 09:54:21 PM »
Actually, I do use FRUA windowed, so I assume it is 320x200, albeit that is on a (modern) laptop. I actually find that it is helpful having it so small as I can easily work simultaneously in an art program or work on hacks while UA Shell has my design applied, and switch between these easily.

 

anything