Author Topic: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests  (Read 11110 times)

Offline Ishad Nha

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 943
Re: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests
« Reply #120 on: September 14, 2015, 09:13:24 PM »
In CK the Outdoor zone  is a pure-Ecl, there is no Geo file for the outdoor part of the game. Ditto the Knight's Outpost. I decided to follow FRUA conventions and start the towns at the fifth level.

The contents of the Ecl files:
ECL1.DAX         
ECL1.DAX    16    Outdoors
ECL1.DAX    17    Knights Outpost
ECL1.DAX    18    ????
ECL1.DAX    32    Throtl
ECL1.DAX    33    Throtl Temple
ECL1.DAX    34    Throtl Catacombs
ECL1.DAX    36    Intro
ECL2.DAX         
ECL2.DAX    48    Gargath
ECL2.DAX    49    Gargath Keep
ECL2.DAX    50    Jelek
ECL2.DAX    57    Demo
ECL2.DAX    64    Neraka City & Base
ECL2.DAX    66    Neraka Prison
ECL2.DAX    67    Tomb of Sir Dargaard
ECL2.DAX    68    Southern Outpost
ECL3.DAX         
ECL3.DAX    80    Sanction Docks
ECL3.DAX    81    Temple of Huerzyd, Shadow People's Tunnel
ECL3.DAX    82    Temple of Duerghast
ECL3.DAX    96    Flying Citadels
ECL3.DAX    97    Kernen Square
ECL3.DAX    98    Kernen Base (Myrtani's Stronghold)
ECL3.DAX    99    Ogre Base


Editor has overland zones that come with ovl_overland.png as their graphic, I can't find it anywhere so I just rename bigpic_Map.png.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2015, 10:20:54 AM by Ishad Nha »

Online manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9762
Re: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests
« Reply #121 on: September 15, 2015, 01:28:51 PM »
Most of the graphics have been renamed since .914. So, if you are using a base design from .914, you will need change all of the walls and backdrops as well.

It appears from what you have said that the 8th level in DC should be the 8th level. Correct?

Offline Ishad Nha

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 943
Re: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests
« Reply #122 on: September 16, 2015, 03:12:24 AM »
8th level in FRUA should be the 8th level in DC.

I am hitting trouble with converting v0.9## to v2.17, it might be due to Windows 10. Currently I can't go straight from the first to the latter, crash to desktop happens immediately. I seem to be able to go from v0.9## to v1.01, that then gets me to v2.17. I will need to figure out what is happening.

Most graphics in my Templates were from Rosedragon, hence there should be no name changes for them. Problems are coming from elsewhere? In v0.9## there was no Resources folder for graphics.

Online manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9762
Re: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests
« Reply #123 on: September 16, 2015, 12:33:23 PM »
It is causing the editor to crash? Can you make this happen and post the UafErr_Edit.txt file? This will give Paul some inscite into what is happening.

Version .916 and earlier did not use a Resources folder, .930 and later did. There were no test releases between .916 and .930. (.914 had neded a couple of engine fixes for Dinonykos design to work so Paul made them and then froze the code and called it .916.)
If there is a file attached to an event called "ovl_Overland.jpg" and it existed in .914 and in 2.17 in the Resources folder, DC should still find it. However, if it was the default file for creating a new Overland level in .914, it is not in 2.17.

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests
« Reply #124 on: September 17, 2015, 11:48:08 AM »
I downloaded your DKK.

I am having trouble with it.  I don't know if it
is the same problem you saw or not.
I'll report as soon as I figure out what is going on.

Online manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9762
Re: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests
« Reply #125 on: September 17, 2015, 01:37:47 PM »
I downloaded your DKK.

I am having trouble with it.  I don't know if it
is the same problem you saw or not.
I'll report as soon as I figure out what is going on.

http://ua.reonis.com/index.php?topic=3118.0
Sorry Paul. I split his post off and thought I marked to have it and all (yours) subsequent posts go, but it just split his.

Offline SilentThief

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 891
Re: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests
« Reply #126 on: October 24, 2015, 12:53:20 PM »
Hello everyone.

I am asking for an editor feature request. I would like to have the ability to read the difficulty level into a script variable.

the player can set the difficulty to 5 different levels, named something like:
novice, veteran and champion

and these do not do anything currently (as far as I can tell - correct me if I am wrong).

What I am asking for is something like being able to do this:

if $difficulty(veteran) = true
do combat

ST

Online manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9762
Re: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests
« Reply #127 on: October 24, 2015, 04:07:02 PM »
Hello everyone.

I am asking for an editor feature request. I would like to have the ability to read the difficulty level into a script variable.

the player can set the difficulty to 5 different levels, named something like:
novice, veteran and champion

and these do not do anything currently (as far as I can tell - correct me if I am wrong).

What I am asking for is something like being able to do this:

if $difficulty(veteran) = true
do combat

ST

And there is not already a function to check difficulty?

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests
« Reply #128 on: October 24, 2015, 04:43:45 PM »
Quote
there is not already a function to check difficulty

I can find no such function.  Moreover, although there is
provision for such things, I cannot find that it is put to any use.
Here are the variables that holds the information:

  CString m_Name;
  BOOL m_ModifyHD;
  BOOL m_ModifyQty;
  BOOL m_ModifyMonsterExp;
  BOOL m_ModifyAllExp;
  char m_HDAmount;
  char m_QtyAmount;
  char m_MExpAmount;
  char m_AExpAmount;

Online manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9762
Re: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests
« Reply #129 on: October 24, 2015, 05:06:18 PM »
I looked just now and don't see any either. :) I didn't search the code, though.

I think a function that returned the name of the difficulty setting might be helpful, don't know that the other ones would need to be done, however. To be honest, setting the difficulty level is not a feature that I think I have ever used in DC, and in FRUA, maybe I played something on Novice? Maybe not.

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: STICKY: Dungeon Craft Editor Feature Requests
« Reply #130 on: October 24, 2015, 06:55:49 PM »
SilentThief:

Let us call the function:   $SetDifficulty(difficultyLevel);

  "NOVICE"
  "SQUIRE"
  "VETERAN"
  "ADEPT"
  "CHAMPION"

The function will return the previous difficulty level.
Specifying an illegal string leaves the difficulty level
as it was.

So the function you asked for is:

diflvl = $SetDifficulty("");

Now you need to create a mini-mod using that function
and submit it as a bug report (Because it obviously does
not yet work as herein documented!!!).

 

anything