Author Topic: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x  (Read 625 times)

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9837
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #60 on: August 17, 2017, 03:01:05 PM »
i know that they are supposed to be ignored, but you know, sometimes things don't do what they are supposed to do. ;)

Did you post that small error log? If not, can you?
« Last Edit: August 17, 2017, 03:02:43 PM by manikus »

Online Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #61 on: August 17, 2017, 05:16:27 PM »
Quote
could lines 11-14 of the config.txt have something to do with

A quick examination of the code leads me to say "No".
Some are used by the editor and others are obsolete
and unused.


Online Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #62 on: August 17, 2017, 05:51:15 PM »
At the day's end, if we can find no reason for this behavior,
we can ship the entire design to me for debugging.  But
that should be our last resort.

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2340
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #63 on: August 18, 2017, 01:25:45 AM »
Sorry, this time, also redoing the converting process did not help. I played the design until it crashed, encountered several errors, but the UafErr_Engine.txt file (attached) contains only two lines...

Not sure what is going on here, since it works, as written above, well for the other design I converted.
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Online Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #64 on: August 18, 2017, 08:51:08 PM »
Both of those log files seem rather remarkable.

If they contained the first two lines of the log then
that could be a clue.

If they contained the last two lines of the log then
that could be a clue.

If they contained the first line and the last line then
that could be a clue.

But.....it seems they contain the first line and one of the
middle lines.  Perhaps that is a clue but I am clueless.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9837
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #65 on: August 19, 2017, 02:13:25 PM »
I don't know if this might be a thing, but if I have the error log open in my text editor when I do someting in the engine or editor, I get a warning to update the doc in the text editor. If I chose no, but continue to do stuff in the engine or editor and then save in my text editor, it make s mess. Maybe something like this is occurring? Admittedly, it usually crashes something - tet editor or Windows folder.

Dinonykos, do you have any clues that might prove relevant?

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2340
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #66 on: September 26, 2017, 10:41:39 AM »
Sorry, I had not yet found time to look at this again (the last weeks were quite busy). I had seen that there were/are also some other bugs for you to deal with anyway... But I have not forgotten about it and will try to convert "Snow Tigress" with the newest editor and engine versions soon.
Concerning Manikus' idea, I don't think I had the error log open. But I remember we had other issues earlier, like the number of error logs. We'll see. :)
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9837
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #67 on: September 26, 2017, 01:07:05 PM »
No worries. Paul and I are rather busy at the moment working on the Change Class issue and then we have at least one other significant bug to deal with after it.

 

anything