Author Topic: Dual class not working  (Read 466 times)

Offline KTG

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2017, 08:57:43 PM »
Thanks guys, good to see this getting attention.  Please note that the requirements are 15+ in the ability score(s) of the FROM class and 17+ in the ability score(s) of the TO class.  If I read the sample scripts correctly, the FROM and TO requirements were reversed.  A class such as Paladin has multiple ability scores that should meet the requirement.  Also, a few combinations are not allowed due to alignment restrictions (e.g. Paladin / Thief), but otherwise any single class human character that meets the FROM requirements can change to any other class that he meets the TO requirements .

Offline Nol Drek

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2183
    • Nol Drek's Web Site
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #16 on: September 20, 2017, 10:19:21 PM »
As Paul noted, there should be a check that the race of the individual wishing to change classes is "Human".

I also don't see a check for whether a character has previously changed classes or not. It looks to me like a character could change back and forth multiple times, rather than being limited to a maximum of 2 classes (Dual-Classing).
"Into the Drachensgrab Mountains!"

http://www.noldrek.com

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #17 on: September 20, 2017, 10:33:13 PM »
Quote
check for whether a character has previously changed classes

The hard-wired code attempts to check for this.
Does it work?  It should.  But maybe it should be removed
from the hard-wired code so that the designer could
allow multiple changes.

Quote
race of the individual wishing to change classes is "Human"

This is handled in the races database.  An option named: "ChangeClass yes/no".
Does it work?  It should.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9857
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #18 on: September 21, 2017, 12:33:24 PM »
The script listed is not going to be used, but it did handle correctly the "to" and "from" - I had tested it that far. ;)

I have added more checks to the new scripts, like all of the abilities and alignement options for a given class. As Paul stated, I have not put in any race checks as we are alrady doing that in the races database. However, for a designner doing her own thing, race checks would certainly be appropriate if applicable and work in a similar manner to the ability checks. You can also do sex checks - like if you want a "Priestess" class, for example.

I'm working on some snafus in at least one of my new scripts, so progress is being made, but not there yet.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9857
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #19 on: September 21, 2017, 03:13:22 PM »
We have the Change Class optioin working, both engine and script. However, as I was testing the above asked about "one change only" rule - yes, it is in place - I decided to try training a PC in the new class and promptly crashed the engine. I have three PCs which had changed to 3 different classes, and training any of them results in CtD.

A little bit longer before I post scripts and links, etc.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9857
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #20 on: September 22, 2017, 01:42:38 PM »
Crash has been fixed by Paul. However, still not posting anything because not only does changing to Magic User not work, but once you change to any class, you're stuck at 0 XP, not spells (if applicable), and XP cannot be gained...when we get this fixed, and assuming it is the last of this bug, I will update everything.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9857
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #21 on: September 28, 2017, 03:37:00 PM »
I think we've got it. Check out this thread:
http://ua.reonis.com/index.php?topic=3620.new#new

Offline KTG

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #22 on: October 28, 2017, 12:31:16 AM »
I think this is only partially fixed.  I installed the 3.25 version and did a little testing.  3 characters, all human.  A cleric that switched to magic-user, a fighter that switched to magic-user, and a fighter that switched to cleric.  In all cases, the options presented for changing class were the correct ones, based on the stats, etc.  That is the part that (I hope) is fixed.  After that, however, the characters show as if they had changed classes, but not one of them could memorize spells in their new class. I leveled them a couple times and still no spells available. Actually, the cleric that switched to MU could still memorize cleric spells.  Also, after surpassing the level of the original class, it still showed as if they only were the new class (but not able to memorize spells of the new class).

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9857
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #23 on: October 30, 2017, 04:18:43 PM »
I am not surprised to hear this. I even have an idea of what is causing this. ;)
No mini-mod needed.

I think there will be another issue with changing classes, too. But will wait on that until it is reported.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9857
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #24 on: November 07, 2017, 04:10:22 PM »
Paul has done it again, ladies and gentleman.

Check out engine 3.35 for the fixes needed to properly cahnge to a spellcasting class.
http://www.dianneandpaul.net/UAF/DungeonCraft_335.7z

You also need the new databases attached to this post (special abilities .dat and .txt).

Offline KTG

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #25 on: November 24, 2017, 11:16:39 PM »
There are many things that aren't working now for leveling.  First, we should make sure I have the right setup.  I have the full release of 3.25 from source forge.  I then copied the files from this post to the template design as well as my test design.  So, I am now running the 3.35 exe, with the 2 special abilities files in this post (copied to the data subfolder).  The other files were still from the 3.25 release.  If that sounds wrong, let me know how it should be done.
I created 2 new characters - i'll just mention the first (neither worked).  Started as level 1 human cleric.  Leveled him a few times.  At 3rd level, he did not get any level 2 cleric spells.  After 4th level I changed class to MU.  As a level 1 MU, he was not able to memorize MU spells.  This was the reported issue.  He also still had the cleric THACO.  On leveling up to level 2 MU, still no spells.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9857
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #26 on: November 27, 2017, 05:54:29 PM »
There are many things that aren't working now for leveling.  First, we should make sure I have the right setup.  I have the full release of 3.25 from source forge.  I then copied the files from this post to the template design as well as my test design.  So, I am now running the 3.35 exe, with the 2 special abilities files in this post (copied to the data subfolder).  The other files were still from the 3.25 release.  If that sounds wrong, let me know how it should be done.
I created 2 new characters - i'll just mention the first (neither worked).  Started as level 1 human cleric.  Leveled him a few times.  At 3rd level, he did not get any level 2 cleric spells.  After 4th level I changed class to MU.  As a level 1 MU, he was not able to memorize MU spells.  This was the reported issue.  He also still had the cleric THACO.  On leveling up to level 2 MU, still no spells.

I am aware of these issues. What y'all haven't seen are the behind the scenes conversation that Paul and I have been having. I think it is fixed now, but need to test it out at home tonight. If it is fixed, I will a post here tomorrow and an update thread.

Offline KTG

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #27 on: November 27, 2017, 09:55:19 PM »
The issues go deeper even than what I posted the other day.  I strongly suspect that dual-classing was never implemented in DC.  It means a lot more than just updating to a new class at level 1.  All the old abilities of the original class should be 'suppressed' until the character exceeds the level of the old class in the new class.  For example, if I start as a Paladin and reach level 7, the character now has Prot/Evil, Lay hands for 14 pts healing, immune to disease, turn undead as level 5, THAC0 of 14, 3 attacks per 2 rounds, saving throws of a level 7 paladin, etc.  If I then dual class him to a cleric, he is, in effect, just a level 1 cleric with none of the abilities of the paladin.  He only retains the HPs.  He gets 1st level cleric spells, turn undead as level 1, THAC0 20, etc.  He continues to level normally as a cleric (but not gain HPs), until he surpasses his paladin level (reaching level 8 cleric, in this case).  Then, he gets all the old paladin abilities back (Prot/Evil, lay hands, etc.).  As for THAC0, saves, etc., he gets the better of the two class/level values.  THAC0, for example, will be 14 when he reaches Pal 7 / Cler 8.  When he reaches a level in cleric that has a better THAC0, he will get the cleric THAC0 (at level 13 cleric, he should have a 12 THAC0, if I recall correctly).
I haven't seen any of this in my limited testing.  If you already are aware of this, that's fine - I am just trying to explain.  Just hoping to get this to the finish line without having lots of iterations where we're pursuing one small piece at a time when I think its the 'bigger picture' of dual class functionality that needs to be addressed.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9857
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #28 on: November 28, 2017, 01:07:00 PM »
Dual classing was indeed implemented, but it wass all hard-coded. Some point recently, you discovered that paul and I had broken it. :D
Now only a very small bit of it is hard-coded. The rest is done by scripts, which you don't have because we are still working on them. I can tell you that the particular example you mentioned above will be dealt with by the scripts. In your example, the PC will indeed lose of it's paladin-related abilities exxcept for hit points when it becomes a cleric.

I will post all of this shortly. There is a caveat, that while the change appears to be working correctly, what happens when the second class surpasses the first class, that has not been worked out yet.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9857
Re: Dual class not working
« Reply #29 on: November 28, 2017, 05:32:44 PM »
Check this out:

http://ua.reonis.com/index.php?topic=3638.new#new

You need to import the special abilities database into your design and use the new engine. Please, continue to let me know what issues you are having, I want to fix them. :)