Author Topic: 36 Dugeon limit  (Read 1522 times)

Avin

  • Guest
36 Dugeon limit
« on: November 03, 2009, 06:58:13 AM »
Is there a way to increase the number of dungeons in a module beyond the 36 you're allowed?

Offline Ben J

  • Keeper of the 44 quest variables
  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2723
  • "See how I reward those who fail me!"
Re: 36 Dugeon limit
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2009, 07:05:45 AM »
Yes, although I have no experience with it.

You can find some answers in these two threads:

http://ua.reonis.com/index.php?topic=771.0

http://ua.reonis.com/index.php?topic=598.0

...or you can wait for the more knowledgeable hackers to answer your question.  :)
Released designs:

The Sect

Avin

  • Guest
Re: 36 Dugeon limit
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2009, 09:07:10 AM »
I've checked both of those threads and they do talk about the ability to "grow" more dungeons but none actually say how to do it. If some one knows how or has a link to a thread that gives that information please let me know.

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: 36 Dugeon limit
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2009, 05:29:47 PM »
You want a program called "Grow.zip" that you can find here:

http://frua.rosedragon.org/pc/hacks/grow.zip


Here's the information that's in the text file (what little of it that there is):
======
Comments by David Knott:

Peter Kos wrote four art growth utilities, but he was only willing to certify
and document "GROWWALL" as working properly for its intended purpose.
Subsequent investigation has revealed that three of these programs seem
to work perfectly (the sole exception being "GROWBACK", which creates
unusable expansions of the file "BACK.TLB" and therefore should not be
used).  Of the remaining programs:

"GROWWILD" works as indicated in the file "GROWWILD.DOC".

"GROWDUNG" works in a very similar manner to "GROWWILD"
even though it has no documentation of its own.

"GROWWALL" is the only "GROW" program currently supported by
UA Shell.  That program may be invoked from UA Shell via the menu
bar option "Editors|Grow Wall".



From the author, Peter Kos:

COMMENTS
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
  If you find this program of value, please tell me so.  If you can make any
  suggestions as how to improve this program, please do so also.  I can be
  reached via America Online or the Internet at address: PETER KOS@AOL.COM
  or via U.S. mail at:  ATTN: PETER KOS
                        8916 W. NATIONAL AVE. APT. 19
                        WEST ALLIS, WI  53227

  If you are feeling very generous, I won't shy away from donations of any
  type, shape, or form.  Other then that this program is completely FREEWARE.
  Enjoy and good luck!

=====================


That's all I got.  Maybe someone else can actually tell you how to use it.

Obviously, the program you want is GROWDUNG (and I will be kind enough not to make the obvious joke here).  :)
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Offline nologgie

  • Non-resident Non-expert
  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 3465
Re: 36 Dugeon limit
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2009, 06:46:49 PM »
Actually, GROWDUNG is for additional dungeon combat art.

  I've only grown dungeons while playing around, but the easiest way I know is to use Merrick Blackman's GEOMOVE  program. This will move the dungeon to a new slot, and update all the transfer modules in your design.

Preliminary notes:
  UA will only edit dungeons in the default slots (geo001.dat - geo040.dat), so dungeons should ideally be completed before being moved into a 'grown' slot. Ideals are rarely realized, and most elements may be altered by temporarily swapping geo numbers to get it into an editable slot, but ALL TRANSFER MODULES to the 'grown' dungeon should be in place before using geomove.

Using GeoMove:
  Geomove is accessible via UAShell, but I recommend copying it into your design (*.dsn) directory and running it from the DOS prompt.
  The command format is GEOMOVE <source> <destination>
  Source and destination numbers are as shown in the editor, rather than the geoXXX.dat numbers, so:

geomove 2 38

would copy geo006.dat to geo042.dat, and update the transfer module targets.

I hope this helps.
Tom
Some days it just doesn't pay to gnaw through the straps.

Avin

  • Guest
Re: 36 Dugeon limit
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2009, 11:05:58 PM »
Thanks for the help guys.

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: 36 Dugeon limit
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2009, 06:40:24 AM »
Actually, GROWDUNG is for additional dungeon combat art.

Whoops!

I've never used any of these programs myself...

See what happens when you try to be helpful?   :P
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Offline nologgie

  • Non-resident Non-expert
  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 3465
Re: 36 Dugeon limit
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2009, 12:29:45 PM »
A sidenote of possible interest -
Those who like the idea of 'protected' (non-editable) dungeons might consider using geomove to put their dungeons into non-editable slots. It would require working around the do-only-once bug, and while the dungeons could be moved back and edited, I doubt many would make the effort.
Just a thought...
Some days it just doesn't pay to gnaw through the straps.

Offline Ben J

  • Keeper of the 44 quest variables
  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2723
  • "See how I reward those who fail me!"
Re: 36 Dugeon limit
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2010, 05:35:20 AM »
The "Geomove" method works wonderfully (yeah, it has come to this, I'm using it). I only hope it's compatible with all versions of UAShell.

Is there a way to display the additional dungeon slots and what's in it?

I'm keeping notes, of course. Without an option to display the dungeons, these notes always need to be triple-checked before I move anything...  :-\
Released designs:

The Sect

Offline nologgie

  • Non-resident Non-expert
  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 3465
Re: 36 Dugeon limit
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2010, 05:56:24 AM »
The "Geomove" method works wonderfully (yeah, it has come to this, I'm using it). I only hope it's compatible with all versions of UAShell.

As far as I know, it is. It just tells the game which geo.dat file to load.

Quote
Is there a way to display the additional dungeon slots and what's in it?

One way is to copy the geo.dat into a blank design. Use care (and extra thought) if you edit/add any Transfer Modules that involve other moved dungeons, but everything else should edit normally.

Edit: I forgot to mention that after you copy the geo.dat, you should change the number to one in the editable range, and change it back before you copy it back to the original design.

Note: If you've added screen hacks (walls, backdrops, etc.) it's best to drag them into the blank design as well, just so everything will look the same.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2010, 07:38:40 AM by nologgie »
Some days it just doesn't pay to gnaw through the straps.