Author Topic: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x  (Read 514 times)

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2302
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #45 on: August 16, 2017, 10:24:16 AM »
Oha! That's interesting. I will check that!
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #46 on: August 16, 2017, 10:37:34 AM »
Further, rather tedious, testing indicates that
the maximum is 127 characters.  I added an
error message that will help future designers
over this hurdle.

Yours is 130 characters.

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2302
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #47 on: August 16, 2017, 10:46:21 AM »
I cannot yet check it (wrong computer), but could that explain why in the other design some midi files work, and some not? (Those with short names might work because they are just below 128?)
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #48 on: August 16, 2017, 11:00:16 AM »
Yep.  127 is very different from 128.  That is
the nature of integers.

Offline Nol Drek

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2157
    • Nol Drek's Web Site
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #49 on: August 16, 2017, 07:16:25 PM »
Does the engine need the 130 character absolute path:

C:\Users\Kotthoff\Documents\Kotthoff_Projekte\DC_2x\DCEditor\DCeditor_2016\Helmetlands_SnowTigress.dsn\Resources\MID_DarkSeven.mid

Could it instead use the 28 character relative path:
\Resources\MID_DarkSeven.mid
"Into the Drachensgrab Mountains!"

http://www.noldrek.com

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #50 on: August 16, 2017, 07:26:31 PM »
Usually.  But then I would be dealing with
the exceptions.  It is better to deal with
Windoze' limitations directly rather than
obliquely.  I think.

Besides, the DC engine has been rather carefully
re-crafted in such a way that the various resources
and files could be trivially placed anywhere on
any device.  Using relative paths would totally
destroy that possibility. (A possibility that has
been kept quiet and not implemented)

Old FRUA fans should have no trouble dealing
with short folder/file names.   ;)

Offline Nol Drek

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2157
    • Nol Drek's Web Site
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #51 on: August 16, 2017, 07:42:48 PM »
If I make a design with short file and folder names, and Someone downloads my finished design and places it in the following location:

C:\Users\Someone\Desktop\ThisIsAReallyBadNameForTheFolderWhereIKeepAllOfMyDCRelatedDesignsBecauseThisParticularFolderNameIsRidiculouslyLong

Resulting in a path of:

C:\Users\Someone\Desktop\ThisIsAReallyBadNameForTheFolderWhereIKeepAllOfMyDCRelatedDesignsBecauseThisParticularFolderNameIsRidiculouslyLong\MyDesign.DSN\Resources\Music.mid

will that still cause the same error?
"Into the Drachensgrab Mountains!"

http://www.noldrek.com

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #52 on: August 16, 2017, 08:20:34 PM »
It most certainly will result in the same error.

See:
      The Gospel according to William Gates

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #53 on: August 16, 2017, 08:24:40 PM »
As a matter-of-fact, all Windoze programs are
full of references to the constant 'MAX_PATH'.
It is bigger than 127 but it ain't anywhere near
aleph-0.

See:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc249520.aspx
« Last Edit: August 16, 2017, 08:27:18 PM by Paul R. Stevens »

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2302
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #54 on: August 17, 2017, 12:54:24 AM »
Cool! I just moved my whole folder structure a little (removing one "folder level"), and the music is played. Thank's Paul!  :hello2:
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2302
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #55 on: August 17, 2017, 01:10:08 AM »
Interestingly, now that I changed the folder structure, the UafErr_Engine.txt file is again only 1 kb in size, even if I play through more than one level...  ???
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2220
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #56 on: August 17, 2017, 10:17:04 AM »
Quote
the UafErr_Engine.txt file is again only 1 kb in size

The only reason that I can find after a quarter-hour
of study is that you removed the following from
your config file:

LOG_ERRORS = 1

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2302
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #57 on: August 17, 2017, 01:27:45 PM »
No, it is still there. I will experiment a little, maybe I can find out what's the reason. I never had this problem in any other design so far and use quite the same config.txt files always...
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9763
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #58 on: August 17, 2017, 02:21:04 PM »
No, it is still there. I will experiment a little, maybe I can find out what's the reason. I never had this problem in any other design so far and use quite the same config.txt files always...

Paul, could lines 11-14 of the config.txt have something to do with this?
Code: [Select]
Install_Dir = G:\Kottprojekte\DC_port
Default_Resources = G:\Kottprojekte\DC_port\DefaultArt
CommonCharFolder = G:\Kottprojekte\DC_port\CharSave
Game_Exec = G:\Kottprojekte\DC_port\UAFWin\UAFWin.exe


Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2302
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: Upgrading Snow Tigress to DC 2.x/3.x
« Reply #59 on: August 17, 2017, 02:47:24 PM »
I thought about this, too, these lines are relics from old folder configurations.

However, these are also in the config.txt of "Fiend's Ritual", and I had no problems with the UafErr_Engine.txt yet after converting that design to DC 3.x.
I cannot look after this tonight, but I guess I will find time for it tomorrow.
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

 

anything