Author Topic: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics  (Read 261 times)

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9835
new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« on: July 01, 2017, 04:24:29 PM »
nothing to see here...

Left for thread discussion.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2017, 02:14:51 PM by manikus »

Offline Dinonykos

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2337
    • Dinonykos Dungeon Craft
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2017, 04:48:51 PM »
Excellent!  :hello2:
Find four contributions to the Pre-Generated Character Mini-Module Design Contest on my homepage.
New: THE AMBASSADOR'S LETTER, my contribution to the 7-day-challenge.
DINONYKOS DUNGEON CRAFT DESIGN HOMEPAGE

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9835
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2017, 05:12:42 PM »
I know, right? :D

There is currently only the one cirumstance available, but Paul will entertain adding more, and in fact the documentation could lead one to think that he is expecting to add more. ;)

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2017, 06:26:06 PM »
Quote
he is expecting to add more

I am expecting to add more.  As you convince me that they
are needed.

Version 2.99 has been deleted.  Use version 3.00.

Offline steve_mcdee

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1951
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2017, 07:39:06 PM »
Wow, great!

Offline Mechanaut

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2017, 08:59:25 PM »
How does this work (exactly)?  Do I need the full version installed (version # ?), and then replace the executable with the new one?

*I tried this with what I have installed, and got a black-screen, then exit to desktop.

This sound really promising. I recall how Westwood liked to have in-world graphics move out of the viewport and over top of the UI area, in Lands of Lore.  Also as seen with the dolphin in FRUA. It sounds like one (if so inclined) could use this to implement high level combat spells like those seen in Planescape.  (I'm assuming that graphics could be scripted per frame, to have animations?)
« Last Edit: July 01, 2017, 09:07:34 PM by Mechanaut »

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2017, 11:05:57 AM »
Quote
I'm assuming that graphics could be scripted per frame, to have animations?

Ahhh....ummmm....well......hmmmmmm.....How can I say this?

No. 

If you want fancy graphic displays, you may have selected the
wrong gaming system.  DungeonCraft is a very static, turn-based
engine.

Offline Mechanaut

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2017, 12:33:02 PM »
Are you saying definitively, that one cannot script an image change per-frame with the next frame of a short animation?


Quote
If you want fancy graphic displays, you may have selected the wrong gaming system.  DungeonCraft is a very static, turn-based
engine.
I think you've greatly mistaken me in this, I most certainly have no qualms about boilerplate graphics, and easily accept either of the following images as functionally the same; with the second one being a bit cluttered. I prefer turn-based mechanics; when done well.


I've kept tabs on Dungeoncraft since the late 90's. The first design I played was that strange one about the disturbed cop; that used photos of Famke Janssen for the protagonist.


My question was about the updated 3.0 version not working for me. The archive only has the patched executable itself.  I tried replacing the executable in my installed DC, but no good. I assume I will need to do a full reinstall.  (of 2.77?, or what installer?)
« Last Edit: July 02, 2017, 12:35:29 PM by Mechanaut »

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2017, 06:03:21 PM »
No.  You do not need a 'Full Install'.  DungeonCraft will
never (probably) require anything like that.  You should
always be able to put a new engine into an old design
by simply copying a single executable.  The rest of this
note seems to contradict that statement but is a bit
of a special case because this SpecialGraphics was still
in development when Manikus made his demonstration.

I don't know what a 'Patched Executable' is.

I think perhaps the problem with Manikus' demonstration
is that it took advantage of a bug in DC engine version 2.99.
I fixed the bug and released version 3.00.  I deleted version
2.99 because I did not want someone else taking advantage
of the same bug. 

In any case, Manikus' demonstration will not work with
DungeonCraft engine version 3.00.  And engine version 2.99
is gone from my website.  Therefore, if you are to see a
demonstration of the 'SpecialGraphics', you will have to read
the documentation and create it yourself or wait until Manikus
returns from holiday and creates a new one for you.

The documentation is at:
http://dianneandpaul.net/UAF/Help/SASpecialGraphic.html
and DungeonCraft engine version 3.00 is at:
http://dianneandpaul.net/UAF/DungeonCraft_300.7z

If you find either to have some sort of problem, please let me
know.
Quote
Are you saying definitively, that one cannot script an image change per-frame with the next frame of a short animation?

Definitively.  And definitely.  Animations are foreign to DungeonCraft
and likely always will be.

Offline Mechanaut

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2017, 07:02:05 PM »
You should always be able to put a new engine into an old design
by simply copying a single executable.
  I tried that. I have DC installed, and I can run the editor [ver.2.66], but with the version 3.0 executable in the same folder, that version will not load; it complains of not finding its config.txt file.


Quote
I don't know what a 'Patched Executable' is.
It's a more recent executable with a new fix applied.  As you said, you fixed version 2.99, and re-released it as 3.0—deleting the 2.99 version.  V3 is then the patched executable.


* Although the term "Patch" more accurately means the difference (in bytes) patch; where one used to need only download the changes between the older file (that one already had), and its more recent updated version (which is mostly the same file, but for minor differences); such that people didn't have to download the whole file; only the minor changes needing applied to it. They could thus download the patch.


« Last Edit: July 02, 2017, 07:04:43 PM by Mechanaut »

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2017, 08:53:34 PM »
Quote
V3 is then the patched executable.

Then version 2.99 was a 'Patched Executable'.
Then version 2.98 was a 'Patched Executable'.
Then version 2.97 was a 'Patched Executable'.
Then ver...........

And version 3.01 will be a 'Patched Executable'.
And version 3.02 will be a 'Patched Executable'.
And ver.....................................

In the case of DungeonCraft I think we can safely
drop the 'Patched' adjective and simply refer to
the executable by its version number.  I try hard
to remember to change it every time I put a different
executable on my website.

Quote
it complains of not finding its config.txt file.

Then either the config.txt is in the wrong place or
the executable is in the wrong place.  Or something
terrible has happened.  If you were to
forward your "UafErr_Engine.txt' file that was created
when this error occurred, we can probably
determine the cause of your problem.

Offline Milos Gulan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3151
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2017, 03:23:13 PM »
I will have to try it soon. I will start working at the beach and there is a good chance that I will be able to work there if I fix the electricity.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9835
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2017, 01:11:57 PM »
I think perhaps the problem with Manikus' demonstration
is that it took advantage of a bug in DC engine version 2.99.
I fixed the bug and released version 3.00.  I deleted version
2.99 because I did not want someone else taking advantage
of the same bug. 
Interesting since I was following the documentation... ;)

...wait until Manikus returns from holiday and creates a new one for you.
I came bearing a new way to use this feature, but with an engine that has been removed.
give me a day or two.

Quote
Are you saying definitively, that one cannot script an image change per-frame with the next frame of a short animation?

Definitively.  And definitely.  Animations are foreign to DungeonCraft
and likely always will be.

Animations like a GIF file are foreign, but we do have multi-framed image animation for smallpics. Been there since I've been on board. and we have animated spell FX in the same way.

Offline Mechanaut

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2017, 02:55:58 PM »
Animations like a GIF file are foreign, but we do have multi-framed image animation for smallpics. Been there since I've been on board. and we have animated spell FX in the same way.
Specifically I meant, using the script to display frame_1.png, then using the script to display frame_2.png, then using the script to display frame_3.png... etc.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2017, 02:57:37 PM by Mechanaut »

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9835
Re: new as of engine 2.99:Special Graphics
« Reply #14 on: July 05, 2017, 03:31:11 PM »
Animations like a GIF file are foreign, but we do have multi-framed image animation for smallpics. Been there since I've been on board. and we have animated spell FX in the same way.
Specifically I meant, using the script to display frame_1.png, then using the script to display frame_2.png, then using the script to display frame_3.png... etc.

It can do that, but there is nobuilt-in 'time between frames" so you would have to do something to make it choose the next frame.
actuallyy the first post has my compass image which is four frames, one for each of the directions.

 

anything