Author Topic: Importing FRUA Designs  (Read 8371 times)

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #15 on: October 02, 2015, 07:02:29 PM »
Hmmmmm.....My post overlapped yours.
So.  Did you get rid of the spaces or did it
start working with the spaces?

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #16 on: October 02, 2015, 07:04:20 PM »
Quote
Figuring out which level one is which is going to be a pain

Why is that?  They should be numbered the same as in the
original design.

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2820
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #17 on: October 02, 2015, 07:20:54 PM »
Related to this process, but somewhat unimportant, I did encounter a weird bug when testing the map to make sure it was working.  Apparently, it tries to show a default sprite (I have not added any artwork, so I can assume that the program added it?), and it looks like the screenshot I'm including.  I don't think sprites are supposed to work this way unless this one isn't formatted correctly...just to let someone know in case it's an issue...

LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2820
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #18 on: October 02, 2015, 07:22:13 PM »
Hmmmmm.....My post overlapped yours.
So.  Did you get rid of the spaces or did it
start working with the spaces?

It worked fine with the spaces.  The issue was that I had pulled the design directory out of the FRUA directory (something the instructions said I should *not* do).  So, the screw up was mine.

Quote
Why is that?  They should be numbered the same as in the
original design.

Sure, if you want to do things the easy way...  ;D
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #19 on: October 02, 2015, 07:45:04 PM »
Quote
I don't think sprites are supposed to work this way

I'm inclined to say that you are right.
I'll wait for Manikus to tell me what exactly
went wrong.

I think that the most important thing I can do is
to automate the import of the databases and levels.

If you see something more critical, let me know.

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9368
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #20 on: October 03, 2015, 02:48:57 PM »
I just cheked, and sprites are working correctly....so...

What I think i s likely the case is that DC handles sprites prettty similarly in that both need a frame size to be specified. In default DC, that is 176x211. It might be that the import process is making the size of the image (in this case 528x211) be the frame saize.

Ben, you can check this by clicking on the event that is bringing up the picture and going to the screen where you would actually add the art - on the right side of the editor pane is where the frame data will be - right next to the picture of the  graphic.

To be explicit - no, sprites should not appear this way. It looks exactly how it would look if DC thought this image were a small pic.

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #21 on: October 03, 2015, 03:06:00 PM »
Manikus:

Have you attempted to convert Dark Alliance?

Have you examined any of the text files to get a feel
for how the conversion takes place?
What is wrong here?
I think this is the event shown:

Here is the FRUA data before conversion:
            {
               "chained_event_follow" : "if does not happen",
               "chained_event_id" : "56",
               "details" : {
                  "force_backup_one_step" : "0",
                  "message_1_highlight" : "0",
                  "message_1_hit_return" : "1",
                  "message_1_text" : "A GUARDSMAN MOVES DOWN THE STREET. YOU NOTICE THAT DARK BLOOD DRIPS FROM HIS BATTLE AXE.",
                  "message_2_highlight" : "1",
                  "message_2_hit_return" : "1",
                  "message_2_text" : "\"MONSTERS ARE EVERYWHERE. IT'S THE CURSE OF THOSE DAMN MOONS!\"",
                  "message_3_highlight" : "1",
                  "message_3_hit_return" : "1",
                  "message_3_text" : "\"EVER SINCE THEY APPEARED, MONSTERS OF ALL SORTS HAVE BEEN SPOTTED. IT'S AN EVIL OMEN, I TELL YOU!\"",
                  "message_4_highlight" : "0",
                  "message_4_hit_return" : "1",
                  "message_4_text" : "HE MUMBLES TO HIMSELF AND CONTINUES ON HIS WAY.",
                  "message_5_highlight" : "0",
                  "message_5_hit_return" : "1",
                  "message_5_text" : "",
                  "picture" : "Evil Champion",
                  "picture_distance" : "close",
                  "sound" : "none"
               },
               "do_only_once" : "1",
               "id" : "55",
               "trigger" : "always",
               "trigger_data" : "none",
               "type" : "Text Statement"
            },

And here is the DC data after conversion:

         {
            "general":{"json Line Number":"36421",
               "eventType":"Text Statement",
               "eventID":"55",
               "xy":[-1,-1],
               "control":{
                  "onceOnly":"1",
                  "chainTrigger":"If Event does not happen",
                  "facing":"Any/All Side(s)"
               },
               "picture1":{
                  "picType":[SmallPicDib],
                  "filename":"sprite_EvilChampion.png",
                  "timeDelay":"0",
                  "numFrame":"0",
                  "width":"0",
                  "height":"0",
                  "flags":"4",
                  "maxLoops":"1",
                  "style":"0",
                  "allowCentering":"true",
                  "useAlpha":"false",
                  "alpha":"0"
               },
               "text":"A GUARDSMAN MOVES DOWN THE STREET. YOU NOTICE THAT DARK BLOOD DRIPS FROM HIS BATTLE AXE./n/b\"MONSTERS ARE EVERYWHERE. IT'S THE CURSE OF THOSE DAMN MOONS!\"/n\"EVER SINCE THEY APPEARED, MONSTERS OF ALL SORTS HAVE BEEN SPOTTED. IT'S AN EVIL OMEN, I TELL YOU!\"/n/wHE MUMBLES TO HIMSELF AND CONTINUES ON HIS WAY./n",
               "chainEventNotHappen":"56"
            },
            "particular":{
               "waitForReturn":"false",
               "forceBackup":"false",
               "highLightText":"false",
               "distance":"Up Close"
            }
         },

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9368
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #22 on: October 03, 2015, 03:54:33 PM »
Manikus:

Have you attempted to convert Dark Alliance?

Have you examined any of the text files to get a feel
for how the conversion takes place?
What is wrong here?
I think this is the event shown:
I have plans to try this out this weekend. I'm more expecting that my role will be providing files, etc and not trying importing. I can try importing every time something is done to warrant trying to import again. I might need more explicit instructions though.

...
And here is the DC data after conversion:
...
               "picture1":{
                  "picType":[SmallPicDib],
                  "filename":"sprite_EvilChampion.png",
                  "timeDelay":"0",
                  "numFrame":"0",
                  "width":"0",
                  "height":"0",
                  "flags":"4",
                  "maxLoops":"1",
                  "style":"0",
                  "allowCentering":"true",
                  "useAlpha":"false",
                  "alpha":"0"
               },
I think this should read something more like this:

Code: [Select]
               "picture1":{
                  "picType":[SpritecDib],
                  "filename":"sprite_EvilChampion.png",
                  "timeDelay":"0",
                  "numFrame":"1",
                  "width":"176",
                  "height":"211",
                  "flags":"4",
                  "maxLoops":"1",
                  "style":"0",
                  "allowCentering":"true",
                  "useAlpha":"false",
                  "alpha":"0"
               },
I don't know if "SpriteDib" is the correct term, but I know it is different from SmallPicDib, so that DC knows to use the pixel at 0,0 as the transparency color.
How will DC know that a sprite is expected? If I recall correctly there is a match-up list for art somewhere in this and any time the match-up returns a DC file with the prefix "sprite_" might be one way.

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2820
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #23 on: October 03, 2015, 04:51:40 PM »
Yeah, that's what it looks like to me too.  DC is trying to load it as a small picture instead of a sprite, and since it is larger in size than expected, it is causing that issue.  It's a minor thing, obviously, but something I noticed when testing out the map I imported.

I guess the conversion didn't make it clear that it was supposed to be a sprite.
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #24 on: October 03, 2015, 05:04:45 PM »
All of this discussion is most helpful.

I hate to have a graphic's purpose depend on its name.  Here is
the line from the FRUAArtMap.txt:

"Evil Champion"         "sprite_EvilChampion.png"

I think I could expand that to read:

"Evil Champion"         "sprite_EvilChampion.png"   "Sprite"    176,211

Manikus:  Do you have a copy of the FRUAArtMap.txt?
Do you think it reasonable to expand it to include the art type and size?
Can you tell me what the various types and sizes might be?
I will do the actual editing of the file if you can help me recognize which
is which and what the types and sizes should be.

I already know that names starting with "sprite" should be "Sprite"  176,211

Offline manikus

  • Skriptor
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9368
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #25 on: October 03, 2015, 05:13:41 PM »
I do believe that I have a copy of that at home and will do as you request and post it here on Monday.

I've got to say, I am feeling a bit excited about this. :)

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2820
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #26 on: October 03, 2015, 08:15:02 PM »
Something I learned while importing files from FRUA:

If you import a map, you have to change the default size that DC sets for the map (which is 10x10).  If you leave it at 10x10, it will truncate the map to that size and discard everything else.  If you make it larger (like 30x30), it will shrink the map down to the size that it was in FRUA.  I imagine this would be handled by DC if it did the importing of the maps for you.  But, just a heads up.
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #27 on: October 03, 2015, 09:47:22 PM »
Quote
If you import a map

The word "Import"......can mean more than one thing.

I tried pressing the "Import" button and it increased
the size to the size of the 'imported' map.

Do you mean 'Import' to mean Pressing the 'Import'
button on the select level dialog?  Or do you mean
something else?

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2820
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #28 on: October 04, 2015, 08:37:19 AM »
I meant using the "Import Map" function.

Doesn't matter.  I can't replicate this now.  No idea why it happened one time but not any of the other times.
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Offline Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2083
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #29 on: October 04, 2015, 10:27:17 AM »
You may like this better: (Thank you Manikus...specifying type and size worked)

 

anything