Author Topic: Installing FRUA98  (Read 2872 times)

Offline nologgie

  • Non-resident Non-expert
  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 3465
Installing FRUA98
« on: August 26, 2009, 01:32:53 PM »
Download frua98.zip here.

Unzip the contents into a temporary folder.

Note: Most systems already have the MSVBVM50.DLL file required to run FRUA98. It is installed with HackCKIT, so if you don’t have the file, but intend to use both, simply install HackCKIT first. Otherwise, you can download it from:
ftp://ftp.microsoft.com/softlib/MSLFILES/msvbvm50.exe

Run "setup.exe"

Copy all the files from the FRUA98 directory to the UA DOWNLOAD directory.
(Default installation directory is c:\Program_Files\FRUA98).

Start UAShell. You should get a dialog box with the statement: “Installation of UA editor(s) successfully completed,” and another telling you to remove any files from the TEMP directory.

Delete the files from your TEMP directory.

Close and restart UAShell.

Press F2, and select CKITITEM

If FRUA98 starts, skip the next step.

On some computers running Vista or XP, UAShell will open a DOS window, but will not start FRUA98. If this occurs, start FRUA98 from windows and proceed to the next step.

The first time Frua98 runs, or anytime it can not find the main UA executable, it will open a dialog box to ask for the location of CKIT.exe. Use the file browser to locate the file.

At this point, you can begin editing. When finished, close FRUA98, and answer 'yes' or 'no' when asked if you want to save changes.

Return to the UAShell DOS window, and follow the prompts.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2009, 01:36:45 PM by nologgie »
Some days it just doesn't pay to gnaw through the straps.

Offline wariodude128

  • Dreamer of creating a gigantic module.
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • I'M-A NUMBAR ONE!!!
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2015, 11:42:23 PM »
The link to the webpage for the  MSVBVM50.DLL file no longer exists, and I'm having the problem of setup.exe not running without it. Either find another site or make a direct download by Sourceforge. This is starting to get quite annoying now.
Just because you're smart, doesn't mean you do smart things.

Offline Donnie Ewald

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 273
    • Ego's Abode
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2015, 05:47:15 AM »
Relax friend. You've got to realize that FRUA and it's supporting community has been around for some time. People, and especially files from posts of 2009, come and go and things change often. A quick google search pulled up the file from Microsoft here:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/180071

...feel free to ask questions and learn and I'm sure you'll find many helpful people around. :)

Offline fly_by_night66

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2015, 07:51:08 AM »
Okay - I will ask the stupid question - what is FRAU 98?

Offline Donnie Ewald

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 273
    • Ego's Abode
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2015, 08:08:34 AM »
From the readme: "If you want to change the classes which can use a sword, change which items are cursed or create unique magical items, you can do it with Frua98. Frua98 also contains a string editor to change the names of the weapons, armor, scrolls, etc."

http://frua.rosedragon.org/pc/hacks/frua98.txt
http://frua.rosedragon.org/pc/hacks/frua98.zip

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2903
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2015, 08:55:08 AM »
Thanks, Donnie!
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Offline steve_mcdee

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1953
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2015, 01:06:45 AM »
I have successfully installed FRUA 98 and have identified the location of CKIT.EXE, but when I try to run it (not through UA Shell) I get the following error message:
Quote
Run-time error '9':
Subscript out of range
Can anyone help, please?

Offline steve_mcdee

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1953
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2015, 04:04:51 PM »
Alright ... an update on this.

I had been trying to use FRUA98 with my edited CKIT (edited using a combination of TEXTEDIT, STR_EDIT and HACKCKIT). Evidently FRUA98 did not like this, hence the "Subscript out of range" error.

I tried using FRUA98 on an unhacked FRUA. It worked.

I changed various item vocabulary strings using the FRUA98 built-in string editor. Once I had made all my desired changes (all with the FRUA98 string editor) and saved them, I again received the "Subscript out of range" error. (According to FRUA98 there was still plenty of room left).

So ... I conclude that there is something about my string alterations that FRUA98 does not like, for some reason.

Wondering if anyone has any idea what might be causing this problem?

Offline steve_mcdee

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1953
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2015, 04:27:43 PM »
A further update on my experimentation ...

By trial and error, I managed to discover that FRUA98 appears to produce the "Subscript out of range error" when the total number of bytes used by item vocabulary exceeds about 1159 bytes.

That is, even though FRUA98 says that up to 1360 bytes are "allowed", and even though FRUA itself appears to function correctly when the number of bytes exceeds 1159, FRUA98 will not work once the number of bytes exceeds 1159.

Hopefully this information might be helpful if anyone ever experiences similar problems in the future.

Offline Null Null

  • Maker of excessively difficult vanilla mods
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2017, 07:58:33 PM »
So you guys made this thing work? I actually found the famous MSVBVM50.DLL file and installed it, but then FRUA98 told me COMDLG32.OCX wasn't registered. Then when I tried to register it using regsvr32, it told me it didn't work with this version of Windows (Windows 10).

Oh well, I guess our luck had to run out sometime...

Offline Mechanaut

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2017, 08:21:50 PM »
If that's your OS, then you need to look into installing VMware or VirtualBox, and install Win98, 2k, or XP as a virtual machine.
Windows 7, 8, and 10 have been stripped of the ability to run 16-bit software.

**Possibly, you might get it to run on Linux via Wine; it's certainly a free option that you can try first.

File links from Microsoft:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/187621/msvbvm50-dll-missing-from-building-applications-with-outlook-98
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=10019
« Last Edit: October 10, 2017, 08:32:00 PM by Mechanaut »

Offline Null Null

  • Maker of excessively difficult vanilla mods
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2017, 08:32:17 PM »
Hmmm...any item editors that run under DOS? Those should run from DOSBOX, right?

Offline Null Null

  • Maker of excessively difficult vanilla mods
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2017, 06:14:13 PM »
So I downloaded 'Service Pack 6 for Visual Basic 6.0: Run-Time Redistribution Pack (vbrun60sp6.exe)', using the option to install in compatibility mode, and now I am able to install FRUA98 and HackCKIT. HackCKIT appears to load; FRUA98 loads but the item records are empty. (1 out of 2, I guess?)

Offline Nol Drek

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2184
    • Nol Drek's Web Site
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2017, 09:10:08 PM »
Hmmm...any item editors that run under DOS? Those should run from DOSBOX, right?

Have you tried using Brett Ladd's Item Editor?
http://frua.rosedragon.org/pc/hacks/itemedit.txt
http://frua.rosedragon.org/pc/hacks/itemedit.zip
"Into the Drachensgrab Mountains!"

http://www.noldrek.com

Offline Null Null

  • Maker of excessively difficult vanilla mods
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
Re: Installing FRUA98
« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2017, 09:44:20 PM »
Haha...yes, that works better. I can now see what GoldBoxFan was doing with the Buck Rogers items. Still trying to figure out what the point of a medic or any of the classes other than warrior is...oh, well.