Author Topic: Importing FRUA Designs  (Read 11545 times)

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Importing FRUA Designs
« on: September 30, 2015, 08:12:56 PM »
Figured I would start a separate thread devoted to the discussion of importing FRUA modules into DC.  I would love to take one of my modules ("Night of the Basilisk" or "AT1: Dark Alliances") and get them working in a fully realized version in DC.  I have had some luck importing both of them in the past (I believe I removed all the hacks from the directories to make this possible).

However, that was years ago.  Things have likely changed a great deal since that time.  So, I'm looking for advice on what the best options are for rebuilding these games in a different engine.  Is my best option to redo them from scratch, or are there working options for importing FRUA reliably into DC to get them up and running in a quicker fashion?
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Online Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2015, 08:57:44 PM »
Here we go.

I promised Manikus that I would post the most recent conversion
tools tomorrow (I have to find them!).

I hope you are willing to try them.  They are probably not as
polished as they eventually will become.  But I would like
someone who is not familiar with them to give it a try so
we can improve them and make them available to anyone
who is willing to provide a bit of effort.

If you prefer, I could attempt the conversion for you and
you could provide feedback on just the final results.

Then we will see where it all leads us.

I am excited to see all our work starting to get used.  I am
confidant that you will find the conversion tools useful.
You realize that if you go through with this, you will
become the expert.

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2015, 09:06:29 PM »
If you prefer, I could attempt the conversion for you and
you could provide feedback on just the final results.

I can give it a try and see what happens.  Unless you have a reason to want to see how they handle in this situation.
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Offline steve_mcdee

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1951
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2015, 02:52:59 AM »
Yes Ben, I would love to see your designs imported for DC with upgraded art.

Online Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2015, 12:40:29 PM »
Here is the conversion tool:

http://dianneandpaul.net/UAF/FRUAConversion/FRUA_Conversion_20151001.7z

It is a monster; 14Mb; but we can update just the pieces
in the near future.

Unpack it into any old directory (not "Program Files").
There is an "Instructions.txt" that describes the easiest
way to convert a design.  In the final design, which
will be in a folder named "DUNGEON_CRAFT_DESIGN",
there will be a data folder with a file named:
JReaderErrors.txt
that will be of interest for debugging.

I will need a copy of your FRUA design so that I can
reproduce your problems and try to work out solutions.

**WARNING***
After converting a design, please do not do any significant
work on the DC design.  All such effort will be wasted when
we update the tool and re-convert the FRUA design.  There
will be several rounds of trial-and-error, I promise.

Here we go.  Wish us luck.  Prayer couldn't hurt.


Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2015, 02:04:26 PM »
Doesn't work.  Crashes twice and gives two errors.  The first one, which is vague, is:

FRUAExport.exe has stopped working


The second one is a double error message.  It's equally vague:

Cannot open input file

and

ConvertFRUA.exe has stopped working


Maybe you would have better luck with the conversion.  You can find the module I'm trying to convert here:
http://frua.rosedragon.org/pc/modules/a/alliance.zip

LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Online Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2015, 02:42:50 PM »
Quote
FRUAExport.exe has stopped working

Oh, dear.  That is the executable CocoaSpud supplied.

Quote
ConvertFRUA.exe has stopped working

And that is mine.

Both are simple Window$ executables.

Let's see what happens to Manikus when he tries it.

Weird!

Online Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2015, 02:48:32 PM »
Hah!  Not so weird after all.

It does EXACTLY the same thing for me.

 ???


Edit.....just to keep everyone informed.
I have notified CocoaSpud and am awaiting his decision
as to how we should proceed.

I think the second crash is a result of the first.  I'm pretty sure.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2015, 06:57:55 PM by Paul R. Stevens »

Online Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2015, 10:11:27 AM »
Good news.  CocoaSpud has replied, is back from his vacation,
and promises to look into the problem.

Online Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2015, 05:02:01 PM »
Fetch this, unpack it, and replace the appropriate files
in your FRUA Conversion folder and /bin subfolder.

http://dianneandpaul.net/UAF/FRUAConversion/Update20151002.zip

Now it appears we can work on the design itself rather
than the process of conversion.

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2015, 05:51:05 PM »
Nope.  This eliminated the first error, but the second one is still occurring (and just to be safe, I tried it on three different UA modules).  What happens when you try it?
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Online Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2015, 06:28:34 PM »
Works just fine for me.

When it pops up a window saying that the
program stopped working....

There should be a terminal window open that displays
the commands and responses taking place during
execution of the batch file.  Before the program dies,
it probably prints some sort of error message.
Can you get a screenshot of that terminal window?

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2015, 06:48:37 PM »
I can do better than that.  One of the nice new features of Windows 10 is the ability to use some Windows functions in the command line window, like "Select All," "Copy" and "Paste."  Here's a text file that includes everything that appeared in that screen up until it gives the first part of the error message.  If you want what comes afterwards, let me know...

EDIT:
And looking at this text file myself, I figured out the problem.  I had moved the design directory out of the original FRUA directory in order to copy it, completely forgetting that the instructions said to leave it there.  So, it's working now.  Never mind.  It's been a long day and I haven't gotten a good night's sleep in the last two days...
« Last Edit: October 02, 2015, 06:52:16 PM by ProphetSword »
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Offline ProphetSword

  • Mod Designer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2901
  • FRUA Lives!
    • Lands of Adventure
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2015, 06:58:49 PM »
Success.  Managed to import the main city area into DC.  Figuring out which level one is which is going to be a pain, but at least it works.

Here's a screenshot...
LANDS OF ADVENTURE: An Old-School Style CRPG

More Information Here: http://landsadventure.blogspot.com/

Online Paul R. Stevens

  • Dungeon Craft Tester
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2235
Re: Importing FRUA Designs
« Reply #14 on: October 02, 2015, 07:00:44 PM »
Great.... The problem is in the first stage.

It cannot find the files in the games folder:
D:\Dungeon Craft Modules\Conversions\

For example:
ckit.exe

A bit of a clue is the following line from the terminal window:
Design Folder: 'D:\Dungeon'

It appears that FRUAExport does not like spaces in
file names....at least not in that particular folder name.

That is very un-window-like.  I'll let CocoaSpud know
about this.  Meanwhile, you can wait for an updated program
or you can get rid of the spaces temporarily.

 

anything